PDA

View Full Version : Upgrade, Anyone?

The Black Knight
06-16-2005, 01:47 PM
I'm looking to upgrade my 1998 Legacy GT. It has a 2.5L engine, and I know it can give me more power than it currently is. At the same time I am a student and don't want to spend a ton of cash to get the mods I want. I have been considering replacing the air intake with a Weapon R model short ram air intake, but I don't know that this will change things all that much. I have also read on other's accounts that they have added a chip to make this model a front wheel drive, I know this could increase my gas milage as well as give me faster times off the line. I'm open to any other ideas, and I want to throw out something I found that looks interesting. Check out this website and see what you think for yourself:

http://www.turbonator.com/index.html?id=adWordsLegacy

The Black Knight

P.S. I'll load up some pics soon. :roll:

Tris_STi
06-16-2005, 02:04 PM
Please sell your Legacy and buy a Civic, those are FWD. If you think you can get faster 'off-the-line' times, I won't argue with you. It's obviously your opinion. :roll: It's dead wrong, but it's your opinion.

Where are you located? I'd love to take your ride off your hands and give it to a real Subaru owner.

The 'TURBONATOR' is actually an intake restriction, I wouldn't recommend it for ANY automotive application. It would barely pass as a dollar-store air conditioning unit.

Weapon R is also not recommended, as are most aftermarket "CAIs" --which they're not. Your engine bay is HOT. Keeping your intake in there makes it the furthest from Cold Air you can get. Feel me?