Results 1 to 17 of 17

Thread: Legacy GT-B BH5 Cluster Issue

  1. #1
    New User
    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Posts
    19
    Points
    463
    Level
    9
    Points: 463, Level: 9
    Level completed: 26%, Points required for next Level: 37
    Achievements:
    250 Experience Points3 months registered

    Legacy GT-B BH5 Cluster Issue

    Ok, thanks.

    Have you ever had issues with the back lights turning off while driving?

    This is what happens:

  2. #2
    Administrator rkrenicki's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Northeastern CT
    Posts
    2,525
    Points
    22,978
    Level
    93
    Points: 22,978, Level: 93
    Level completed: 63%, Points required for next Level: 372
    Achievements:
    10000 Experience PointsO.G.SocialOverdrive
    Looks like a bad ground to me. You said hitting the dash fixes it? Perhaps a wire is pinched up in there somewhere.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  3. #3
    New User
    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Posts
    19
    Points
    463
    Level
    9
    Points: 463, Level: 9
    Level completed: 26%, Points required for next Level: 37
    Achievements:
    250 Experience Points3 months registered
    Yer I also thought that. but I looked at the wiring diagram & thought it might be a faulty illumination/tail light relay. the reason I say this is that my misses was driving behind me once & the tail lights also went out.

    The fuel gauge is very inaccurate also, so I replaced the fuel sender & still the same.

    Any idea where it grounds for the cluster? ill also check for pinched wires.

    Edit: Judging from the poor wiring diagram I have, looks like all of the dash components are grounded below the ashtray?
    Last edited by BOX; 12-04-2015 at 04:31 PM.

  4. #4
    New User
    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Posts
    19
    Points
    463
    Level
    9
    Points: 463, Level: 9
    Level completed: 26%, Points required for next Level: 37
    Achievements:
    250 Experience Points3 months registered
    swapped over the relay. still the same.
    Checked the ground below the ashtray but that's not the one for the cluster. any idea where the ground is for the cluster?
    But it seems to me like its a faulty cluster. couple of bangs & it either plays up or comes good.

  5. #5
    Administrator rkrenicki's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Northeastern CT
    Posts
    2,525
    Points
    22,978
    Level
    93
    Points: 22,978, Level: 93
    Level completed: 63%, Points required for next Level: 372
    Achievements:
    10000 Experience PointsO.G.SocialOverdrive
    The cluster itself has two grounds (A18 and B7), two Battery Constants (A9 and C1), and three Ignition connections (A8, B5, C13). If any one of those connections is intermittent, it will do what it is doing for you.

    I am also splitting off this conversation into its own thread, as the F/S area is not really the place for this.

  6. #6
    New User
    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Posts
    19
    Points
    463
    Level
    9
    Points: 463, Level: 9
    Level completed: 26%, Points required for next Level: 37
    Achievements:
    250 Experience Points3 months registered
    correct me if I'm wrong but wouldn't a poor connection just cut power to the while thing?
    after to comes good, all are back to normal except the fuel which has gone to max full & takes a while to go back to normal.

    the fuel gauge is always all over the shop, even when I have a full tank it will drop to empty. brand new sender on pump side, good sender on pass side.

  7. #7
    Administrator rkrenicki's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Northeastern CT
    Posts
    2,525
    Points
    22,978
    Level
    93
    Points: 22,978, Level: 93
    Level completed: 63%, Points required for next Level: 372
    Achievements:
    10000 Experience PointsO.G.SocialOverdrive
    No, it will do exactly this if only part of the board is powered up. For some reason, Subaru did not cross connect the multiple power feeds. I can make a cluster do exactly the same thing on a test bench by disconnecting one of the grounds or one of the power constants. It was a head scratcher when I was testing my first cluster when I discovered this.

  8. #8
    New User
    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Posts
    19
    Points
    463
    Level
    9
    Points: 463, Level: 9
    Level completed: 26%, Points required for next Level: 37
    Achievements:
    250 Experience Points3 months registered
    wow very interesting. i'll pull the cluster out & check the wiring.
    one more thing it does it that all the back lights turn off (including the needles) & the hazard indicator lights stay constantly lit.
    the speedo, tacho & temp still work.
    same thing? power or ground?

  9. #9
    New User
    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Posts
    19
    Points
    463
    Level
    9
    Points: 463, Level: 9
    Level completed: 26%, Points required for next Level: 37
    Achievements:
    250 Experience Points3 months registered
    had another look at the wiring diagram & B7 is the ground off fuel gauge. the fuel gauge is always playing up on me. if what your saying is true then is has to be B7 causing this issue.
    if your right... I'm gonna...

  10. #10
    SLi Lurker foohfooh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Seattle/San Diego
    Posts
    450
    Points
    5,113
    Level
    45
    Points: 5,113, Level: 45
    Level completed: 82%, Points required for next Level: 37
    Achievements:
    Veteran5000 Experience Points
    The tension is killing me ...

  11. #11
    New User
    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Posts
    19
    Points
    463
    Level
    9
    Points: 463, Level: 9
    Level completed: 26%, Points required for next Level: 37
    Achievements:
    250 Experience Points3 months registered
    Pulled the cluster out, started applying pressure to the B plug, low & behold, it started showing the issues I'm having.

    Now, when I pull out B plug, I lose the illumination of the cluster & only the left indicator light stays on. Therefore, it cant be the B5 ignition wire because then this issue happens both indicator lights stay on.

    B7 ground, I'm coming for you.

    Just so people know, the location of where it is grounded is under the ashtray, bolted onto the body/frame.

  12. #12
    Administrator rkrenicki's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Northeastern CT
    Posts
    2,525
    Points
    22,978
    Level
    93
    Points: 22,978, Level: 93
    Level completed: 63%, Points required for next Level: 372
    Achievements:
    10000 Experience PointsO.G.SocialOverdrive
    The turn signals have independent hot wires, they are not dependent on the rest of the cluster logic. The right turn signal is on B14, so if B was disconnected, that light would stop working no matter what.

    I would not rule out B5 quite yet, but I would not stop tracing out B7.

    another possibility is that the solder joints on the back side of the B connector may have a problem as well. You may want to reflow the solder on that connector if you have the tools to do so.

  13. #13
    New User
    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Posts
    19
    Points
    463
    Level
    9
    Points: 463, Level: 9
    Level completed: 26%, Points required for next Level: 37
    Achievements:
    250 Experience Points3 months registered
    OK, so the B7 Ground is fine, no breaks.

    Still need to test B5 Ignition.

    But I did pull the cluster apart & I did notice that the solder joints on the back of the B connecter don't look good. I don't have the tools to add some more solder.
    I'm leaning towards the cluster still being the issue.


  14. #14
    New User
    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Posts
    19
    Points
    463
    Level
    9
    Points: 463, Level: 9
    Level completed: 26%, Points required for next Level: 37
    Achievements:
    250 Experience Points3 months registered
    Just wondering if anyone in BC can reflow my cluster? or know of someone?

  15. #15
    New User
    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Posts
    19
    Points
    463
    Level
    9
    Points: 463, Level: 9
    Level completed: 26%, Points required for next Level: 37
    Achievements:
    250 Experience Points3 months registered
    Just an update on my cluster issue:

    Had the solder reflowed on the circuit board & it has fixed the issue. Thanks for your help.

  16. #16
    Administrator rkrenicki's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Northeastern CT
    Posts
    2,525
    Points
    22,978
    Level
    93
    Points: 22,978, Level: 93
    Level completed: 63%, Points required for next Level: 372
    Achievements:
    10000 Experience PointsO.G.SocialOverdrive
    Quote Originally Posted by BOX View Post
    Just an update on my cluster issue:

    Had the solder reflowed on the circuit board & it has fixed the issue. Thanks for your help.
    Excellent news! I am glad that you were able to get it all sorted out.

  17. #17
    New User
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Dar Es Salaam, Tanzania
    Posts
    11
    Points
    7,675
    Level
    58
    Points: 7,675, Level: 58
    Level completed: 63%, Points required for next Level: 75
    Achievements:
    5000 Experience PointsO.G.

    Facing same issue

    Quote Originally Posted by BOX View Post
    Just an update on my cluster issue:

    Had the solder reflowed on the circuit board & it has fixed the issue. Thanks for your help.
    Hi there,
    I am facing the same issue you had and seeing that you were able to solve it was a relief. Would you be able able to guide me where exactly you had the solder reflowed so that I may do the same.

    Thanks in advance!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •