PDA

View Full Version : Subie Newbie...Some questions to get started....NY

TickitySplit
02-26-2013, 09:59 PM
Hello all! Found this forum looking up stuff to fix/upgrade/tune my Subie. Holy ISHHHHHH this site is awesome. I have tons of things to fix and tinker with on my Subie.

Of coarse I'm a subie newbie :smt006 ... I have questions.
First, what's shakin mang?!?! I'm new
What are all the abbreviations for my car? Motor? Model?
-It's a 02 Legacy Gt Wagon.... Has a 2.5 automatic. 2 sunroofs?!?!?!<---have no clue why..but I dig

Good place for parts that arent horribly expensive but semi-performance(middle of the road, new or used if possible)?
-rack in pinion assembly and hoses need to be replaced... I think from what I've seen
-driver side ball joint and possibly tie rods on both sides(upgrade bushings while I'm in there?)
-rear suspension noise(mechanic told me it was a bar of some sort?!?! Not sure)
*would like some better springs front and rear
-fan in dashboard is load, light is out in gauges too(might as well put nicer lights in)
-have the "tick" of coarse, put rotella T5 tick dulled....slightly. Should I try T6 now even though it's winter?
-brakes and pads?
-maybe some different wheels(not a fan of the ones on there)

I'm hoping that 90% of this work I will do myself on the weekends. That's the list so far. Just really need to get it running as nice as possible then work on some more performance and cosmetics more.... BTW how do I post pics of my Subie that I call "Handsome Harold"?

TickitySplit
02-27-2013, 12:29 AM
little dirty right now
https://sl-i.net/FORUM/images/imported/2013/02/NPssSVz-1.jpg
https://sl-i.net/FORUM/images/imported/2013/02/iNI8JEk-1.jpg
https://sl-i.net/FORUM/images/imported/2013/02/vT9KY3A-1.jpg

Barbbachello
02-27-2013, 01:09 AM
In terms of suspension and brakes etc you should be able to use impreza/WRX/STi parts to some extent

GTDrifter
02-27-2013, 11:06 AM