PDA

View Full Version : New Member - Coastal Georgia

Asphalt Art
10-03-2013, 03:39 PM
I have been a long time lurker throughout the various Subaru sites throughout the years, but for the past decade or so I been fairly cemented into the VW groups (not the late model crowd, think pre-99.5 and aircooled).

After a few years of searching that was constantly interrupted from deployments as a civilian and constantly working all over the East Coast as a Military Contractor, I have time finally. It took a while, but I was able to find a decently maintained 2002 Legacy GT Wagon with the manual transmission about 15 miles away. I honestly just like the overall stature of this particular model, and I like wagons in general. It had 184k on it, the dreaded P0420 code, I thought it was black at first (come to find out after it is washed and half buffed, it's more brownish: BGP apparently), but I still did not regret trading in our 2010 HHR with 86k for it. It is my first Subaru, and so far I have been pleased considering that in the first 3 weeks I rolled another 5k off the odometer.

All in all, I was going to keep it fairly stock at first but eh, plans change. In the end I feel it needs about another 150hp to be "good" in my eyes from an acceleration perspective. It is great fun as it sits bone stock right now, but I have a few ideas up my sleeve. I don't build cars like I see a lot of people doing, just throwing huge power into stock chassis setups with a set of wheels. I spent a great deal of time in Euro cars, Lowriders, Mini-trucks, the vast majority of my time in American Muscle, and I am certainly fond of dipping into every resource to get the end result I like.