PDA

View Full Version : newb w/ questions, AT to MT swap, restoration. ticking prob

Juggernaut929
10-11-2006, 01:23 PM
hey everyone this is my first post, nice to meet you all

i have an old 1991 legacy SS, auto, 133k miles, its in pritty good shape overall, minimal rust, mostly on muffler, fender bottems(behind wheel area), and exaust manafold and downpipe, nothing that'll really affect the car, its had its fair share of problems and so far i think ive done a pritty good job of keeping it running, *damn mechanics screwing people(me) over*, im a newbie mechanic with cars but i know how to use a wrench, and follow instructions, but theres still alot i dont know.

im hoping i can keep this baby working untill in finish college in another year or two, then maybe buy a new legacy gt *hopes*, but what i would really like to do is restore my old subie after i have found something a little more reliable.

to be honest i really want to ditch the automatic transmission, ive looked at several posts hear and done a little research, i was thinking the best think i could do to get all the parts is find a old legacy 5spd, and just swap the parts over, my engine is in pritty good shape i think, though i might consider a rebuild.

i dont really plan to rice this thing out or anything, maybe do a few upgrades, like exhaust, intake, suspention, and anything that can make my car more reliable too. im not too big on the 1in from the ground look, just want a solid car.

i really want to do a 5 speed swap though, i love driving a manual, and the auto feels like its limiting my car. i dont have lift or anything, but i could make a pit pritty easy, maybe outta cinder blocks or something haha, either way i have a wait ahead of me and alot of studying if i really intend to do this.

list of the problems the car has had (since i have owned it)

1) fuel pump died (damn mechs said they had to drop the tank)