PDA

View Full Version : my legacy gt

markv
12-12-2006, 05:16 PM
Hi people, I am new to this cool site, and yes i've read the rules and such, anyway way i need help with my legacy gt its a 2006 and my intercooler has been getting bent around from things flying around in through the hood scoop. I have some silicone that can withstand the turbos heat for a little cuz i no it goes to 1200 degrees or more, anyway, i need some help with whether or not I should put a screen either on the hood scoop (under side of the hood) or just right over the intercooler.If some one could possibly get back to me here or my aol account which is Mavuksanaj88@aol.com, I'de really appreciate it!!!

sheepdog
12-12-2006, 05:31 PM
bent intercooler fins are something you'll never eliminate. However, either option you just said would work fine. Most people (myself included) place the screen flat on the bottom of the hood under the hood scoop. I was able to secure mine without silicone, but I'm not sure how it is under the hood of the new legacys. It's nice because when stuff (ie a bird) gets in there, you can pull it off and get the crap out. Make sure you don't use a mesh too constricting, as it will hurt air flow.

The best method for bent fins is either 1. An intercooler fin comb. Purpose made, awesome, but costs money) 2. you can use a small flat tip screwdriver and needlenose pliers to straighten them out.

markv
12-13-2006, 10:38 AM