PDA

View Full Version : 4EAT shift kit

jeremod
03-01-2007, 01:52 AM
Don't know if anyone has seen this but I'm thinking it may work on a Legacy 4EAT.

Dunno how much different the SVX trans. is from the Legacy but being a Subaru it shouldn't be that different.

http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/Subaru-S ... dZViewItem (http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/Subaru-SVX-Stage-1-Shift-Kit-SVX-Automatic-1992-97_W0QQitemZ280049761410QQcmdZViewItem)

ryankenn
03-01-2007, 02:41 AM
I'm all for anything that helps my 4EAT shift more crisply. Someone just needs to see if the 4EAT from the SVX is the same. We should just all chip in for that price and try it out on a car.

backpack09
03-01-2007, 08:45 AM
I have zero experience with autos (autos are for girls :lol: ) but the as long as you can find the resister pack they show in the pictures, this should work for any subaru. What it actually does, I do not know...

badbasser98
03-01-2007, 10:47 AM
Well, the SVX's has a completely different engine and tranny from the EJ series which is in your cars. This being so, I would have to make an assumption that the internals are not the same and not compatible.

jeremod
03-01-2007, 07:10 PM
Alright this is gonna be a long one. I'm a bit of a geek so this could get kinda technical but I'll try to make it understandable. I started out as a mechanical engineering major before I decided engineering is too much of a desk job.

I've been doing a lot of research today on the possibility of installing this shift kit on a Legacy 4EAT. I am fairly positive it will work. I found the resistor that controls line pressure in the transmission. It's located on the front right side strut tower kinda above the ABS solenoid. (I'll get pic soon)

We'll start with a little background info on automatic transmissions. Feel free to correct me if I'm wrong on anything here. If you don't really care how it works then you can skip this part. :grin: