PDA

View Full Version : 99 2.5GT Mod ideas?

Svenerachi1
07-18-2005, 06:51 PM
Hey guys, I'm a newbie subie driver. I've got a 1999 Legacy 2.5GT,
Only thing i've done to it is a K&N panel filter, plan on doing a snorklectomy as soon as i get some extra time.

Question 1: are those cheap fuses that change the intake temperature reading dangerous to the engine?
I had it in for about 2000 miles, then started having problems with overheating and such, and found that i had the famous pinhole in the headgasket problem, and haven't put it back in yet.

Question 2: With a new pulley set, do the increases in power justify a 350 dollar 3-piece kit from GFB, or should I be satisfied with a lightened crank pulley for 50 bucks

Question 3: Does anyone know of any noticable difference with a lower temperature(170?) thermostat, or is this like the grounding kits and voltage stabilizers in that they do create more power, but only in engines pushing 500hp?

Question 4: Any suggestions on any other CHEAP mods?

Wiscon_Mark
07-18-2005, 11:30 PM
to answer question 1: Yes, they're bad for the car, TAKE IT OFF QUICKLY! i'm not gonna flame you for using it (others may, just ignore them) but please, for the sake of your engine, take it off.

question 2: check out rallitek....I don't know about a 50 dollar lightened crank pulley. Is it underdriven? Because if it is, then you need new belts, or you're gonna screw things up. If it isn't, it may be a steal, or, more likely, a piece of junk. Check out rallitek (vendor links) and look at the Perrin crankshaft pulley. I think its 120 bucks. the 350 set? never seen it, bet gator could help you out there though, he may know something about it. Just remeber, NO underdriven pulleys unless you're getting shorter belts to match.

question 3: a lower temperature thermostat? Is it like a chip to fool the engine into thinking its at an optimum temp.?? (like in question 1). I don't know the answer to that one, sorry.