PDA

View Full Version : Cams???

rat-sack
11-25-2008, 12:26 PM
can any one tell me if stage 3 cams are going to eliminate streed driving?

slaytalera
11-25-2008, 12:34 PM
from what ive heard, im not an expert but im sure someone will chime in...stage 1 is more street, stage 2 is kinda for half and half, and stage 3 is strictly for racing purposes

Huffer
11-25-2008, 12:49 PM
can any one tell me if stage 3 cams are going to eliminate street driving?

You can drive on the street, just don't expect it to be all that enjoyable:
http://www.techworkseng.com/Products/Su ... e_Cams.htm (http://www.techworkseng.com/Products/Subaru_Engine_Cams.htm)

Like I said in your other thread, you will need Engine Management.

Thread moved to Naturally Aspirated Drivetrain.

decke48
11-25-2008, 02:01 PM
the problem with stage III cams is they have such high lift and deration. the idle would be to lumpy and you would either have to bump up the idle or just keep it up there. plus there made for high end power making them not good for a daily driver. stage II cams are for a mix of mid and high end power when keeping the low end in there. though it needs a piggyback EM to keep the car happy. stage I cams are for a mix of all power and they keep the stock ecu happy

Qman
11-25-2008, 04:54 PM
the problem with stage III cams is they have such high lift and deration. the idle would be to lumpy and you would either have to bump up the idle or just keep it up there. plus there made for high end power making them not good for a daily driver. stage II cams are for a mix of mid and high end power when keeping the low end in there. though it needs a piggyback EM to keep the car happy. stage I cams are for a mix of all power and they keep the stock ecu happy

Stage 1 cams are a base low end torque grind in most applications.
Stage 2 is mid to upper powerband. Does not generally require EM but is useful.
Stage 3 is indeed generally a track use cam. All top end!

rat-sack
11-25-2008, 10:09 PM