Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Running With No Converter

  1. #1
    "FNG"
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Posts
    58
    Points
    914
    Level
    16
    Points: 914, Level: 16
    Level completed: 14%, Points required for next Level: 86
    Achievements:
    3 months registered500 Experience Points

    Running With No Converter

    Is anyone here running without a catalytic converter? Aside from the obvious cel and environmental concerns will the Legacy run ok with out it? Some cars are picky about it and others are not. I am going to be redoing the exhaust on my 98 GT Limited and I am looking at all options. Any info is greatly appreciated.

  2. #2
    SLi Resident LunchBox04V's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Ann Arbor, Michigan
    Posts
    504
    Points
    9,126
    Level
    64
    Points: 9,126, Level: 64
    Level completed: 26%, Points required for next Level: 224
    Achievements:
    5000 Experience PointsO.G.

    Re: Running With No Converter

    I was running a phase 2 2.2 California without a cat for a while in my old wagon. As side from the environmental stuff, you will need a spacer for the second O2 sensor. If the ECU looks as both signals from the number 1 and 2 O2 sensors, and sees no change, it throws a P0420 alarm. (The EJ22 Gen 2 actually had an A/F Ratio as sensor 1, and O2 for sensor 2... Weird California model stuff) Adding a slightly drilled out "spark plug anti-fauler" fixes this because the signals will be different. (All the ECU really cares about)

    Aside from that plan on adding a resonator. I initially didn't, and Jesus it was loud even with a large can style muffler. (Only removed the cat). As a whole, I'd suggest against it. I only really did it because thy original cat flang died, and I was not in the mood to spend $500 plus for a new bolt in cat setup. I will say the mpgs increased with the cat removed.
    The three most common expressions in aviation:
    "Why is it doing that?"
    "Where are we?"
    "Oh S...!" *(The last three letters are omitted since when this expression is said, there is little chance to finish it)*

  3. #3
    "FNG"
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Posts
    58
    Points
    914
    Level
    16
    Points: 914, Level: 16
    Level completed: 14%, Points required for next Level: 86
    Achievements:
    3 months registered500 Experience Points

    Re: Running With No Converter

    If I decide to go that route I will definitely be running a resonator. Thanks for the info.

  4. #4
    t3h ch33se Wiscon_Mark's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Plover, WI
    Posts
    9,869
    Points
    43,397
    Level
    100
    Points: 43,397, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Achievements:
    25000 Experience PointsO.G.Overdrive

    Re: Running With No Converter

    I would go with a hi-flow cat instead - it's going to be loud, boomy, and raspy, even with a resonator with no cat in there, and it's a terrible for the environment.
    ~Mark [SLi Admin]
    2015 Dodge Charger AWD
    2008 Subaru Tribeca Limited, 7 passenger w/ Navigation

    Former vehicles:
    03 Forester
    95 Legacy Outback

  5. #5
    t3h ub3r m3mber r3v_v3ng3's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    209 NorCal
    Posts
    1,684
    Points
    13,292
    Level
    75
    Points: 13,292, Level: 75
    Level completed: 11%, Points required for next Level: 358
    Achievements:
    O.G.10000 Experience Points

    Re: Running With No Converter

    +1 on the high flow cat. You guys are lucky you can get them off the net, its a no no in CA

  6. #6
    Administrator Huffer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Eastlake, OH / Wellington, NZ
    Posts
    13,384
    Points
    44,297
    Level
    100
    Points: 44,297, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Achievements:
    25000 Experience PointsO.G.SocialOverdrive

    Re: Running With No Converter

    I always run without cats. Too much weight, especially with my Asics trainers.
    Plus they're always hissing and start biting a bit if you squeeze them too hard.

    Oh WAIT. You mean a catalytic converter for a car!

    The ECU will trip an error unless you cap the sensors away from the exhaust flow you could install a resonator in place of the cat, but you will still need to consider that your car will trip an error at some point. Plus, if you have EPA inspections they could fail you just on visual inspection alone.
    - Roger - Site Admin
    My signature is now a shout-out to the SLi veterans who keep this site flowing with good knowledge and informative opinion. You KNOW who you are, so keep it up!
    USDM 04 LL Bean H6 Wagon - TANK
    USDM 98 GT Wagon - Pandgrish - RIP; USDM 98 GT Sedan - 216k RIP; NZDM 99 GF8 - retired
    USDM 07 Honda Odyssey - Mrs Huffer;
    Live Like No One Else - Debt Free

  7. #7
    "FNG"
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Posts
    58
    Points
    914
    Level
    16
    Points: 914, Level: 16
    Level completed: 14%, Points required for next Level: 86
    Achievements:
    3 months registered500 Experience Points

    Re: Running With No Converter

    I live in Michigan. No inspections here.

  8. #8
    "FNG"
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    64
    Points
    2,824
    Level
    32
    Points: 2,824, Level: 32
    Level completed: 50%, Points required for next Level: 76
    Achievements:
    Veteran1000 Experience Points

    Re: Running With No Converter

    I too am from Michigan, and have no cat, just a resonator

  9. #9
    New User
    Join Date
    Apr 2016
    Posts
    5
    Points
    76
    Level
    1
    Points: 76, Level: 1
    Level completed: 52%, Points required for next Level: 24
    I live in a part of VA that they look to see if the cat is there during the annual inspection, but thankfully here there is no tailpipe sniffing going on. The folks in NOVA unfortunately have to suffer through the emissions test. For me, thats reason enough not to live there. Giving serious consideration on my old 91 wagon gutting the cat and leaving the shell on it...it will pass the visual inspection that way and no doubt run better. It may be more trouble than it is worth to do that...

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •