Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 31 to 36 of 36

Thread: Converting 2000 Legacy GT to Automatic Climate Control

  1. #31
    "FNG" Dinka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Posts
    44
    Points
    970
    Level
    16
    Points: 970, Level: 16
    Level completed: 70%, Points required for next Level: 30
    Achievements:
    3 months registered500 Experience Points
    THIS IS GREAT!! Gonna Do this soon.
    Legacy L EJ201 NA 5MT MY2001

  2. #32
    New User
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Posts
    11
    Points
    3,222
    Level
    35
    Points: 3,222, Level: 35
    Level completed: 15%, Points required for next Level: 128
    Achievements:
    1000 Experience PointsVeteranCreated Album pictures
    very impressive write up. Thinking about doing this, if you were to do it again would you just use an automatic thermistor in place of the manual thermistor and forgo the converter you built?

  3. #33
    "FNG"
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Location
    Redmond, WA
    Posts
    54
    Points
    2,478
    Level
    30
    Points: 2,478, Level: 30
    Level completed: 19%, Points required for next Level: 122
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience Points
    Yes, I would. I built the converter because I didn't want to disassemble the AC system. Well, I did a Turbo Conversion and all that stuff had to come out anyway so when I put it all back together, I used an automatic thermistor. In addition, you have easy access to the AC Evaporator core through the air filter door. You can just push an automatic thermistor into the AC core through that access point - using that and leaving the manual one in place. Just be sure you install it in a place that is not being rubbed on by the cabin filter (if you use one) - you could wear out the aluminum in the core (it's very thin) and create a leak.

  4. #34
    New User
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Location
    NM/NV
    Posts
    13
    Points
    337
    Level
    6
    Points: 337, Level: 6
    Level completed: 74%, Points required for next Level: 13
    Achievements:
    3 months registered250 Experience Points
    I'm in the middle of doing this myself and found your thread. I'm swapping an STi motor in so had the harness all apart anyhow and just added in the Auto A/C stuff.

    I'm wondering about the venturi tube that goes to the side of the heater core housing...are you positive there was a hole cut out on the auto a/c version? When I pulled mine from a junkyard I neglected to check...

    I ask because I wonder if opening that hole up would cause false high readings (as it's connected to the footwell heat area)?

  5. #35
    New User
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Location
    NM/NV
    Posts
    13
    Points
    337
    Level
    6
    Points: 337, Level: 6
    Level completed: 74%, Points required for next Level: 13
    Achievements:
    3 months registered250 Experience Points
    I think I'll answer my own question here... There's a k type thermocouple at the front panel of the Auto A/C unit. The airflow from the foot area flows through an annulus where the center section is connected to the front panel. So it basically acts like a venturi and creates a low pressure zone to make air flow past the thermocouple up top.

    So hole saw it is

  6. #36
    Administrator rkrenicki's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Northeastern CT
    Posts
    2,652
    Points
    23,967
    Level
    94
    Points: 23,967, Level: 94
    Level completed: 62%, Points required for next Level: 383
    Achievements:
    10000 Experience PointsO.G.SocialOverdrive
    Quote Originally Posted by Romy View Post
    I think I'll answer my own question here... There's a k type thermocouple at the front panel of the Auto A/C unit. The airflow from the foot area flows through an annulus where the center section is connected to the front panel. So it basically acts like a venturi and creates a low pressure zone to make air flow past the thermocouple up top.

    So hole saw it is
    Yep, that is correct. I didnt see your original question until now to answer it

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •