Thread: EJ204 change of valves and gasket.

EJ204 change of valves and gasket.

Got new timing belt, but engine is not running correct, so most likely valves are damaged, when old timing belt broke.
    I am looking for good ideas, doing this job, what to do and what not and which parts should be changed, both for obvious reasons, but also if something seems less obvious.

Plan is to use original parts only, but also to get as many of them as possible on Ebay.

Engine code: EJ204LTDLB
    Applied model: BP5DL9W
    Transmission type:TY757XTDAB

Level
    Level completed: 48%, Points required for next Level: 105
    Achievements:
    1000 Experience PointsVeteran
    I have no direct experience with the EJ204 but, if the timing belt broke then you are most likley looking at bent valves at a minimum. I would start with checking timing. I don't know what your experience level is but I believe the EJ204 Is a DOHC motor with AVCS. Once you confirm YOUR timing was set correctly, I would remove the heads. Inspect for bent valves and or any other obvious damage. With the heads off and cams set at a neutral position you can check for bent valves. You can pour a liquid in the ports to see if the liquid leaks out. If it leaks it is a bent valve. Next I would check the decks using a straight edge. Heads should be sent to a machine shop of pressure testing, cleaning and surface decking. Look at the cylinder walls for signs of scoring. Look at pistons for signs of damage from valve and piston collision. Personally I would stick to OEM parts. I have no clue how easy OEM parts would be to get for that motor because I believe it is JDM, I have no experience with this. When replacing the head gaskets be sure to use multi layer gaskets vs single layer. Take a look at your valve guides to be sure they are not dropping.